Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

Please Note: Virgin Trains Lawyers have specified that we clearly state that this site is NOT affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the travelling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Post a Complaint

All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

Disclaimer: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains you can contact Virgin Trains here. Please DO NOT leave Reference numbers or Employee names otherwise your post could be subject to removal. By posting you accept that you have read and understood this disclaimer.

Latest Complaints


Chris
29/09/16

Ticketing

They sell fares promoting e ticket but regardless of fare rules then won't let you change them


Patricia A Johnson
28/09/16

Delay

Train was delayed because of disturbance from some passengers

Guard had to alert the transport police to escort from the train

We/ other train passengers were told we could make a claim for delayed travel

I sent my information + train tickets to the delay repay claims department

I have heard absolutely nothing regarding this!!

As I use virgin trains regularly I'm very disappointed with the the no response to my claim

I feel if I had been in first class this would have been resolved without hesitation !

I would like some response to my claim.

Tickets and information have been sent to the claims department

Can you please respond to my complaint

regards

Pat johnson


Maxine Bowker
22/09/16

Delay

I have been phoning 08000 158 123 to book a return journey with journey assistance and since 10:00 all I have managed to reach is a recorded message saying that all operators are busy and please phone later. That is 8 hours trying to book a ticket !!


Amanda Davis
20/09/16

Delay

on the 18th September 2016 I had a journey pre booked going from London Euston to Liverpool Lime street at 17:05pm. I had purchased the tickets on Friday 16th September AT 21:32PM for the price of £37.00 and changed my original journey which was to catch a train at 20:54 from London Euston to Birmingham and from there get a coach to Liverpool. The reason for this change was I had a sick daughter in Liverpool and had planned to return to her as early as possible . I arrived at the train station 10 minutes before the train was due to leave, I printed my tickets off 16:59 ticket booking ref 7CCXB92G and headed for platform 12. on arrival I had 3 minutes before the train was due to leave. I was stopped by a virgin customer service female member of staff and she asked me to produce the ticket in a fluster I could not find the ones I printed and handed her the wrong tickers and she said these are the wrong ones. I tried to look again and by this point had 2mins before the train was due to leave so I logged into my emails and showed proof of purchase and wit date and time of travel with my name she refused to make me board. I asked her if I checked that I had not dropped the tickets would the train leave me she said probably. I had no choice then to retrace my steps or try and print off another ticket. the ticket machine would not reprint the ticket and as a result missed my train. the customer service adviser then returned to me my Birmingham tickets and when I put them in my bag found the printed off tickers at 17:07 missed my train.

she then asked me to speak to another representative Pat a male who directed me to the customer service line. I queued and was then called to advisor number 4. I explained to the him that what had happened and I w as upset as I had missed my train and was pissed off as I had a sick child and with the other lady who would not let me on the train even though I showed proof of purchase. I was teary at this point but in no manner aggressive. He said don't swear at me I then apologised and said I did not mean to cause offence but this was in no way said in a angry manner. he then said everyone has a story, I told him that he seem to lack empathy and said that I would wait to speak to another adviser. he then asked me if I wanted his manager I said no its fine and asked a member of the public to take my place with the advisor. He then slammed his fist on the desk and swore in aggressive manner saying "everyone has been fucking this fucking that all day at me" I said I did not say that members of the public where shocked and I was called to teller I think 14. I told him what had happened and he went to speak to management to get me a reduction in fear. I was in tears at this point as I could not speak due to how I was spoken to and treated and the extra expense and not being able to get home to my sick daughter.

I purchased another return ticket number 40911 from Eston to London and waited for my train at this point I was still upset and crying. On this journey no one ever checked my ticket, if virgin was consistent in policy I could understand that all tickets got check, I showed proof of purchase and got denied , I was swore at.

I would like this to be investigated with cameras at the station I am so upset and would like a apology and a refund


Anonymous
19/09/16

Delay

Nowhere to put luggage on crowded Crewe - London train. Staff refused to help or suggest where to put luggage . Train manager later said that it was not the responsibility of Virgin to provide luggage provision for passengers: 'We don't build the trains.' Do Virgin staff take courses in unhelpfulness?


Martha W
04/09/16

Other

Yet another virgin train with broken air conditioning. Leeds-Kings Cross. 3rd train out of 4 that I have recently taken, with no air con. Sort it out!!


Anonymous
31/08/16

Other

Having entered Birmingham New Street station to catch a train with a few mins to spare. Approached ticket barrier, entered ticket for the barrier not to open. Two staff members standing the other side looked with a young female member approached me. No conversation took place, no apology for the barrier opening, looked at my ticket as if I was to blame. She opened it up which clearly was a difficult thing for her to do, I continued through at which point extremely sarcastically and loudly said, "you're welcome." As I made a reply, with her colleague she thought it highly amusing and began laughing.

Am I missing what customer service is? Your system didn't work and I need to be grateful to a staff member who feels the need and gains satisfaction from berating customers with sarcastic comments. Virgin you must be very proud of your unsympathetic and narcissistic staff!

I will be following this complaint up within Virgin as a great day was spoiled by poor service.


Anonymous
28/08/16

Delay

Tried to cancel and rebook a reservation on an open return journey the Virgin phone answerer was not interested in the reservation ticket number or the return ticket number but in address details so he could fill out his form. Sorry to those who were in need of a seat on the Glasgow to London train at the bank holiday weekend but this was not a 'need to know' bit of information and Virgin should cut out the data requests that common sense dictates are irrelevant.


Joanne skinner
27/08/16

Other

Hello - I pre booked my seat which cost £60 and my carriage has no air con! It's so hot that I've walked nearly the length of the train to find another seat. It's unbearable and the small bottle of water, although kind, doesn't quite make up for the price I have paid for this journey!


Steven Dempsey
24/08/16

Other

Not usually one to post a complaint but I am travelling back from London Euston to Manchester its 26degrees outside and the air con is stuck on 29degress in the carriage.

It is uncomfortably warm to the extent that most passengers have perspiration marks on their clothing. Many of us have stood up to ask if it can be resolved or we can relocate but the best we have been offered is to stand in the lobby area where it is colder. This is not to the level of service I have come to expect from virgin trains.


Michael blair
19/08/16

Other

I have just made a complaint but not left my email. It is above.


Michael Blair
19/08/16

Other

Hi,

I have just had a journey on coach d of the 19:00 Manchester Piccadilly train and the entire carriage was unbearably hot. We have been told the airconditioning was broken and we have had to sit in the most uncomfortable heat I have experienced on a train. The train was so busy there was no where else to move to never mind get another seat. I would like some sort of consideration for head horrendous conditions I had to suffer as I felt trapped and no where else to go.


0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo


0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000


0000000000000000000000000000000000000
17/08/16

Delay

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000