Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

This site is not affiliated with Virgin Trains.

The voice of the people written by the people. We all know how hard it is to be heard by big corporations, If you have a complaint for Virgin Trains post it below.

Disclaimer

Please Note: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the traveling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in all our web pages, the content is naturally subject to change and we cannot guarantee its accuracy or currency. We reserve the right to make changes to the information on the site without notice.

Our website has links to many third party information providers who are not affiliated with us. We do not endorse any of these sites, nor the information or merchandise contained or offered by these sites. We cannot make any warranties as to the accuracy, reliability or security of any information you might be requested to give any third party and, in no event shall we be liable for any damages whatsoever.

  • Complaints on Twitter


    Complaint Stats

    Total complaints this month: 5.

    There were 11 complaints posted last month.

    Total complaints posted this year: 62


    Top 5 complaint types

  • Post a Complaint

    All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

    Delay - John Edwards

    I noticed this evening a on a return trip from London Euston to the N.West,how much standards have deteriorated in first class. The free wi-fi is hopeless. So slow and unreliable that my ipad was un useable as it kept dropping connection. Virgin state that they are addressing the problem (but have been saying that for at least the last month). The loos are horrible nothing works and the hot air hand dryers are hopeless.
    2014-10-10 21:13:57

    Delay - Kerry vaughan

    I have paid for the Internet onboard the train and need to access different websites which could not be done. I also had work emails to reply to and again due to the Internet being really slow this did not happen on the train from Stockport to Euston today. Please can you confirm an outcome as I have paid for a service to continue with my work needs. I have used the service before and not been a concern but this was today.
    2014-10-08 20:51:04

    Unhelpful Staff - Graham Baldwin

    2nd of October Flint to London Euston, 6.20 train, there for 6.00, office closed fast track ticket machine out of service. 6.15 office manager opens up, I require if ticket office open, told no, I inform him ticket machine,out of action, his comment "you don't say" in sarcastic tone, he stated have to get tickets at Chester, which i did and missed transfer to London, and was late for meeting not happy he opened up office at 6.15 and not informed me use trains twice a week never had comments like that
    2014-10-04 13:15:39

    Ticketing - lucy Aitken

    I have recently bought tickets which i only booked as they were on offer, after i received the tickets i noticed the wrong date for departure. I arranged for this to be amended which was fine untill i got my refund i was down on £20. After a discussion on the phone it was bought to light it is a £10 per ticket admin charge. This is an utter disgrace, virgin is a multi million pound company in sure it doesn't cost that amount of time effort snd money to reprint a ticket. As a consequence of this im now not any better of than using am other train company. I am disgusted and WILL NOT be using this greedy company again id rather go the extra mile with someone else.
    2014-10-04 10:25:51

    Unhelpful Staff - David Rostance

    I am writing to complain about the poor standard of service I have just witnessed at Wolverhampton station. I visited the station this afternoon to collect some pre-paid tickets from the dispensing machine only to find that the computer system was down. The tickets were not for use today but they were purchased by me on behalf of my wife so it is necessary for me to collect them using my credit card. I was not too concerned about the inconvenience because the journey to be made is in two days time so I can try again tomorrow. I can appreciate that computer systems sometimes crash but what alarmed me was the fact that a long queue had formed but only one of the five ticket windows was open. A woman in the queue was clearly distressed because she was afraid that she was going to miss her train. She pleaded with other people in the queue to let her go first to no avail and then sought the assistance of a Virgin Trains employee who happened to be walking through the ticket hall but seemed to be unwilling to offer any help. I can appreciate that computer systems crash but I find it unacceptable that no contingency arrangements were brought into play. Apart from the one man selling tickets, I could see other people in the ticket office apparently doing nothing. Furthermore, I think that the "customer care" offered by the individual referred to above was seriously lacking. I would even go so far to say that she was rude to the prospective passenger. I don’t know if the woman managed to catch her train or not. I would be interested to know if these shortcomings can be blamed on lack of initiative and social skills on the part of station personnel or is it company policy to provide inadequate staffing?
    2014-10-02 15:22:26

    Other - Anonymous

    My husband and I travelled in first class coach H on the 1600 VIrgin service on Sunday 28th September from Euston to Coventry. Firstly the train was dirty - a member of staff was trying to clear tHe worst of the rubbish as we boarded but the tables and floor were filthy. Secondly we were given a snack box that we hoped to eat with the promised drink. However the drinks trolley only arrived in our carriage as we were pulling in to Coventry - more than an hour into our journey. Lastly, we book first class to be able to work. This proved impossible since the Internet connection was to weak to enable us to access even our email.
    2014-09-29 18:04:37

    Delay - Penny wright

    We booked first class return tickets to london as a treat on sat 27 September On the way out there was no water on the train therefore no hot drinks and on our return journey there were no seats and we had to sit in normal seats , really disappointed !
    2014-09-29 12:40:42

    Delay - Anonymous

    Ken at Warrington bank quay is one of the most rudest customer care people I have ever met . I only went in with a query and he was well out of order and horrible when only tried to resolve something .
    2014-09-26 05:51:53

    Delay - Samantha McDowell

    Hello, I recently got the train from Glasgow to London on Friday the 12th of September. At first we were approx 40 minutes delayed on even leaving Glasgow Central and then to add onto this there had to be a diversion passed South Hampton due to being stuck behind a slow moving train. I think this is ridiculous, as a company you should be prepared and have the route set for only yourselfs to avoid being stuck behind another train! This then cause me to be ridiculously late in arriving to London, completely messed up my plans and in affect also had the people meeting me in london, plans disrupted too. I like travelling with yourselfs as you provide comfortable travel but this experience has clouded my judgement of Virgin trains. I was quoted '9559' for compensation on the delay. I regularly travel to London and would not like to have this disruption happening in the future while travelling. I appreciate that sometimes problems may occur on the train line but it would be very much appreciated if some sort of compensation was to be granted for the unhappiness this experience took upon myself and others.
    2014-09-25 20:16:34

    Cancellation - Kim Lee

    My train from Doncaster to Birmingham New Street at 9:02pm on Monday 15th Sep was cancelled. We asked one of your staff on the platform whether there were any other trains and was told that we had to travel to Sheffield and see if there were any connections from there to Birmingham. I was travelling with my 4 year old son at the time and had luggage wit me so it was incredibaly inconvenient. Due to the cancellation, we had to stay over in Doncaster for the night whcih disrupted my plans for the next day. We managed to get a lift from a friend the next day to Birmingham but had to reinburse her for her petrol. I would be grateful if you could provide me with a refund for the ticket and the loss suffered.
    2014-09-24 05:21:44

    Unhelpful Staff - Nicholas

    Second time I've travelled First and found no papers and next to no food available. Won't bother anymore.
    2014-09-22 09:35:29

    Unhelpful Staff - Nicholas

    Second time I've travelled First and found no papers and next to no food available. Won't bother anymore.
    2014-09-22 09:35:29

    Other - Georgina

    WHY are so many seats marked "Reserved" and no-one actually claims them??? There are some seats that state "Available until -----" (a stop further up the line) but for the umpteenth time I have battled through at least 3 carriages and passed many empty seats because they are marked "Reserved". I am not the only one!! Why does this keep happening. These seats REMAIN EMPTY! (train in question is the 16:15 Edinburgh train from Birmingham New St).
    2014-09-16 15:21:04

    Other - Kerry

    My children and I were sat under broken air con that was absolutely freezing. The shop was not open for the first hour and 20 minutes of our journey, I am pregnant and suffering sickness and needed water, my children were also very hungry.
    2014-09-14 19:50:22

    Unhelpful Staff - kareema

    Currently sitting at stoke on trent station after my son and partner were stuck on the train I asked before the train had left if they were still on there the woman was reluctant to help my sons is epileptic and now travelling without his emergency meds we've also missed most of our day planned at Alton towers which cost 75pound for 2day thanks to incompetence and impatience so not only has he been left at risk he is also missing his birthday present id say pretty terrible for 120pound tickets not happy at all!!!!!!!!
    2014-09-11 13:00:11

    Ticketing - Laura Seedhouse

    Dear Virgin Trains, I have booked a 2 week trip to Canada for my Fiancé’s 50th, I’ve arranged several hotels, several excursions, several flights and the only thing that’s caused any upset, annoyance, stress or anger is booking the trains to London through Virgin to get to the airport!!! I was attempting to book First Class tickets from Leeds to Kings Cross on Sunday 14th September at 13.05. However every time I got to the payment page it declared that my card had been declined. I then phoned my bank – twice just to make sure there was no problem with my card. They checked, double-checked and they guaranteed that there weren’t any issues with my card. I then spoke to your customer services department, who found it very difficult to understand me; similarly I found it very difficult to understand them. Clearly a language barrier does not help in these circumstances. Anyway, they said that it was a website fault, not a card decline that was preventing the purchase, but they could still not assist me in purchasing the tickets sat in my shopping basket. They said this had to be done online. I could not purchase the tickets in my basket, or remove them, but I could not purchase any other tickets while they were sat in there. I watched the prices of the first class tickets go up and out of my budget for both my preferred time and then for my alternative time an hour later. The first woman I spoke to said she’d look at my account and call me back in 2 minutes. 10 minutes went by with no call. I called back and spoke to a man who said there was no note on my account to call me back. He then continued in a similar patronising manner to read out the same information that was in front of me on the screen. I can’t say this was useful! Through concern of all ticket costs going up, I was forced to create an alternative account under a separate email address and purchase standard tickets for my alternative time of 14.05 – losing time in London and going via standard class – something I wouldn’t normally mind, but I didn’t want to do this for such a special occasion. Having looked at the ticket prices and availability today, the first class options are annoyingly, once again available. So I called your customer services again and asked to upgrade, they said I could but only for an administrative fee of £10 per ticket. I explained all that had happened above and that the problem had arose from a website error that was the fault of Virgin, not me, but she said (without empathy or politeness) that it was not possible to wave the fee. I thought that there was a possibility of a Supervisor understanding the situation a little more, so I asked to speak to them. I was on hold for 20 minutes without speaking to anyone before I gave up. I’ve got to say that this isn’t the service I’d expected from Virgin. I’m really disappointed and I’d really appreciate it if you could help me upgrade the tickets and restore my faith in Virgin! Yours sincerely, Laura Seedhouse
    2014-09-08 11:16:37

    Unhelpful Staff - linda nixon

    On 26th August I travelled with my daughter and granddaughter to LLandudno from Crewe. We were to change at Llandudno junction. At every station arrival was announced on board, but NOT when we approached LLandudno Junction, so we quickly grabbed bags and made our way to the end of the carriage and door, only to see a notice on door that this was not in use , a member of staff confirmed this .. she was just standing by, and before we had chance to move off, to another door, the train, having stopped without announcement... moved off !! He was stopped for seconds ! Us, a family of 4 or more , and another lady with two children all found ourselves on the way to Bangor ! the other family had not gone to a shut door but just didn't have the time to disembark. After we got off the train at Bangor I spoke to the driver who had a face like thunder and was very rude. We then had to wait for another train, and our journey turned into a very stressful event. Having not travelled on a train for years, this does not make me want to, I've never heard of a door that is not in use, why use that carriage then ?? What if there was an emergency ? Ridiculous. The member of staff Im sue could have pressed a button for us and told the driver to hang on, very unhelful indeed.
    2014-08-28 15:21:38

    Ticketing - Mohamed Javeed

    Extremely disappointing at Virgin's online booking service. I received a £10 discount code on my email address. So I decided to make a trip to through Virgin. However, when I made online booking I didn't get any option to enter the promotional code. So I called up Customer Service to help me redeem the voucher as this was the only reason that prompted me to book this expensive ticket. However I found that I could not redeem it once payment as already been done online. Fair enough! But at least I should have been given the option to enter the code. After further checking it turned out that the text box for Promotional Code doesn't appear on my Mozilla Firefox browser which is what I was using. (attached) So I lost my £10 due to your technical incompetency and incompatibly of Virgin website with Firefox browser. Utterly disappointing.
    2014-08-21 19:14:35

    Ticketing - michael brierton

    My12 yr old son and i are travelling to london on the 26th of sept and i specificaly asked for awindow seat with a table and power point , no problem onthe way down, but onthe way home they have got my son sitting behind or in front of me so that we are not together on the way home ? apparently they cannot change that booking through no fault of my own . surley their mistake.
    2014-08-21 09:50:09

    Ticketing - Elisha

    very unhelpful staff. After asking directly for not virgin only, fully knowing I would miss the last virgin train home. The lady then printed us Virgin only tickets. Me not realising till on my way home when I was asked to pay for a full price ticket £19.80. after the £22 I had already paid to Virgin. I've spoken to customer services and they're response was 'I cant help you' if anybody can help me or give me some advice much appreciated.
    2014-08-11 14:54:18

In The News

Virgin Trains Trips to London just £1 each way plus 50p (£2.50 ...

Virgin Trains Trips to London just £1 each way plus 50p (£2.50 Return) booking fee!! Here is a great deal if you are looking to book this route!! To get this great deal you need to go and book via MegaTrain - but I am sure these ...

7 Oct 2014 | 5:07 pm

First Great Western trains from Paddington delayed for hours ...

Bad news for commuters in and out of Paddington station: First Great Western trains are experiencing massive delays due to a signal failure. ... Fourteen trains are cancelled and those that are running are subject to delays. Trains that are running: Services from London ... First Great Western tickets are being accepted on South West Trains, Chiltern Railway, London Midland, Virgin Trains, Chiltern Railway and London Underground services. Keywords: Oxford ...

6 Oct 2014 | 2:44 pm

Shropshire rail delays after freight train breaks down « Shropshire Star

Trains between Shrewsbury and Crewe were being delayed by 40 minutes this morning after a freight train broke down. ... was the only service we operate to be affected." Other trains on the line are operated by Virgin Trains.

1 Oct 2014 | 7:00 am

New Sedbergh festival is wool worth the wait - The Westmorland Gazette


New Sedbergh festival is wool worth the wait
The Westmorland Gazette
SEDBERGH'S Main Street looked b-ewe-tiful over the weekend as residents and visitors to the town celebrated the inaugural Sheepfest. More than 100 life-size sheep made by businesses, voluntary organisations and individuals adorned the streets as part ...

and more »

17 Sep 2014 | 3:10 pm

Cash pledge over royal radio hoax - Haringey Independent


Cash pledge over royal radio hoax
Haringey Independent
The Australian radio company behind a hoax royal phone call has donated a six-figure sum to the family of tragic nurse Jacintha Saldanha. Southern Cross Austereo made the donation of £289,000 (500,000 Australian dollars) to a trust fund for the benefit ...

and more »

13 Sep 2014 | 10:49 am

About Us

Living in London I spend more time sat on a train than I ever do at my desks or with my family, and it's an ever straining effort to get to our destinations especially with the increase in rail fares.

This site was setup to voice the opinions of fellow commuters, give you a voice. The only way to do something about the situation faced by us every day is to create a place where everybody is welcome to have their own say and in doing so, perhaps we may just be able to use Virgin Trains Complaints for the greater good :)

hello@virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk