Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

Please Note: Virgin Trains Lawyers have specified that we clearly state that this site is NOT affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the travelling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Post a Complaint

All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

Disclaimer: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains you can contact Virgin Trains here. Please DO NOT leave Reference numbers or Employee names otherwise your post could be subject to removal. By posting you accept that you have read and understood this disclaimer.

Latest Complaints


Bob d
05/05/16

Cancellation

My train to London Euston from Glasgow was cancelled at very late notice this morning --- that is when I arrived at the station for the 9.40. No warning email. Fortunately on the 10 am but now no Wifi --- all in all not good....bobd


Bryony walker
03/05/16

Other

Hi,

The other day I took a three and a half hour train from London to Penrith and had to spend the whole journey sat on the floor, cramped on top of a bin. I travel on virgin trains all the time and on this particular occasion spent 60 pounds to sit in the floor. I appreciate that overcrowding happens from time to time, but when it does I don't think it's fair to pay the full 60 pounds amount for my typical journey to sit on the floor. Looking forward hearing from you,

Best

Bryony


mr abdul malik
30/04/16

Other

Dear sir/madam my name is Mr Abdul Malik my booking reference number is 2221232369

I made some mistakes by not saying I've got a family and friends card because I do and the number is:97457.

So is there any chance I can still get a discount. I'm am going to broad tomorrow. And again I apologise for my mistake. Sorry, this was my first time booking online. Please try and get me a discount. Thank you, Mr Abdul Malik


Andy Bendzak
29/04/16

Other

I am very disappointed at the lack of any feedback from customer services via email and the option of live chat.

I have sent you a number of emails and waited on your live chat facility for hours.

This is very poor service and a lack of focus and attention to providing any degree of customer service.

I expect to be called on 07973 368507 or an email andy@bendzak.com

I want to change the date of my complimentary rail travel you provided due to a poor service earlier in the year and the ticket expires 30th April and I would like to travel next Wed.


Helen G
27/04/16

Food

I'm writing to complain about my journey from Edinburgh to London on virgin trains on 21 April, departing Edinburgh 14.30.

I booked first class as this is the longest leg of a journey i was making to Kent.. The point of travelling first class was to have a more comfortable journey and to have a meal.

First, the train was packed, even in first class, so a comfortable journey was not possible. I gather the previous train had been cancelled. It was also very stuffy in the carriage, and that didn't help either. Everyone was obviously very uncomfortable.

My seat was broken so that it wouldn't go in the upright position (coach K seat 45).

The food on offer was, however, the worst aspect, and I thought it was really pretty pathetic. When I boarded the train at 2.30 sandwiches, cake and bananas came round immediately, but I declined sandwiches and cake as I'd had lunch not long before. I would have had some fruit but there were only bananas (which I can't eat). Later, more sandwiches, same as before - stodgy white bread, not very fresh looking. Everyone was looking at them as if to say, yuk, is that all there is? People who did have sandwiches left most of them, I noticed. Still no fruit apart from bananas. I asked if there would be hot food later and was told no, this service does afternoon tea. I queried this as it arrives into London at 18.50, which is way past my idea of the time for afternoon tea! But was just told that's how it was. (Actually this one was delayed as it had to make two extra stops to cater for passenge who had intended to catch the cancelled 2.00 service, then there was another hold up and arrived into London 25 minutes late.. So my journey on this train was nearly five hours.)

So I'd like to ask.....do you really think that someone who's paid for a first class seat on one of your trains for nearly 5 hours should be satisfied with a few manky sandwiches?! Unfortunately I have no choice but to use this service as I live in Edinburgh and need to travel to Kent regularly to see my elderly mum.

But the service was so much better when it was operated as east coast trains! I'm really disappointed, particularly on this journey, which has been my worst experience so far of this service.

Alcoholic drinks were in abundant supply right from the start of the journey, but how about prioritising some decent food when the journey is a long one and straddles obvious mealtimes?


Shaun McEwan
25/04/16

Ticketing

Hi,

I travel to London every Tuesday morning for work and return on Thursdays.

I booked my ticket for this week on Sunday night and accidently selected the date of Monday 25th instead of Tuesday. I realised my mistake on Monday morning when I got up however I was unable to get through to the ticketing office to change the booking. It seems that the phone line does not open until 8:30 so I called up later in the day to change the ticket only to be told that nothing can be done and I have to purchase a new ticket.

I am surprised to be treated like this given that I made an honest mistake and you can see from my ticket history that I always travel on a Tuesday. I have spent over £2000 on Virgin train ticket in the past 6 months and I constantly have to put up with the late running trains and cancellations. If I have to put up with this quality of service then I expect when I make one mistake that you will give a little leeway in the other direction.

I was returning home from London on the 19:40 on the 14th April and the train ran through Tamworth and the next station because of issues and I had to get off at Lichfield Trent Valley and wait for a train going back to Tamworth. I didn't get home until gone 10PM. I didn't receive an apology or a refund on my ticket and I didn't complain. Sometimes these things happen. But I think it's ridiculous that when the customer makes a mistake you have a zero tolerance policy and expect me to pay twice for my travel.

I will re book my ticket for tomorrow and then seek alternative travel arrangements for the future.

Shaun


Debbie
20/04/16

Other

Last month my train was delayed by around 80 minutes. I finally received vouchers and have sent them back asking for a cheque instead as that was a one-off journey and I won't be able to use those vouchers so they're pointless for me. I've still not received the cheque and have tried to call on numerous occasions and can't get through. Have left a message and my call isn't returned... thought I'd try the online chat and can't get through on that either. Utterly useless. I thought Virgin was meant to pride itself on great customer service???


Christopher Park
15/04/16

Unhelpful Staff

Please can someone contact me regarding my complaint I logged on 3 rd April with no reply.


Martin phillips
11/04/16

Delay

Please can someone contact me on 07961718546 to discuss a incident on the train yesterday concerning my daughter, who was trapped in the toilet and then had 2 men enter the toilet.


Mark Woolham
06/04/16

Delay

There are a number of elements to our complaint. My wife and I travelled on Saturday 2nd April 2016 on the 6.36a.m train, booking ref number 6713175013. When we arrived at Lancaster station we were informed that the station car park was closed due to maintenance- we had no warning of this. The alternative parking was some distance away and had your train been on time, we would have missed it. This was an extremely stressful start to our day in London. The carriage was comfortable, the steward was welcoming and helpful. However your policy of selling upgrades on the day leads to Ist class being overcrowded, thus in our opinion reducing the comfort. Overall the outward journey was fine compared to the return. On boarding the train at Euston we felt the carriage was not to the standard of the outward journey in terms of cleanliness. The tables were not set, no water available so we helped ourselves from the fridge. A family were brought through with a dog and seated at the end of the carriage. They were disruptive throughout the journey, with one member constantly walking up and down the carriage and nothing was done by the steward to control their behaviour. We wondered if they actually had 1st class tickets although we did not question this with the staff on board. On arrival at Preston ( we knew about alternative transport to Lancaster due to maintenance work) there were no signs indicating where to wait for the onward coach transfer. We approached a coach and were brusquely informed by the driver to wait a few yards up the road to wait. After a few minutes he drove to this point to let us get on. His customer service left much to be desired to say the least! One inebriated female boarded the bus, using foul language, carrying alcohol on board and proceeded to distract the driver with inane questions thus compromising passenger safety. The driver did nothing to control her behaviour. We were relieved to arrive back at Lancaster and feel compelled to express our disappointment with the return journey overall. First class tickets are purchased for a reason- to enjoy a comfortable journey albeit for a premium price and on this occasion Virgin failed to deliver value for money, in our opinion.

We anticipate your response.


Chris Jones
05/04/16

Delay

Train delayed 20 minutes, felt like a coffee and sandwich, onboard shop closed before Warrington, crew change over at Preston normally. No staff in sight, poor services.

I only have a 23 minute journey, this is not the first time normally happens when I get the earlier train 0827 Warrington to Preston.


Catriona Livingstone
03/04/16

Delay

Firstly, when I was unable to buy my advance first ticket online, I bought my return journey tickets at the nearest station. I asked for advance first with my senior railcard for the dates required. I was given 2 singles and I checked the dates and details. What I didn't notice was they were standard not first.

This proved crucial.

My journey from Edinburgh to Newcastle on 29/3/16 10am was unpleasant, cramped and noisy. The tea I bought was not good.

My return journey from Newcastle to Haymarket on 1/4/16 18.44 was unbearable.

This train left at 18.53 instead of 18.44. It arrived at Haymarket at 20.32. The connection to Livingston North had left at 20.21. The next one was 20.56 and it was really freezing in the platform waiting. The train from Newcastle was full of very noisy, smelly, rude passengers! I am aged 64. What is usually an extremely pleasant coastal journey to and from my daughter was tiring, cramped and frightening! I did not feel SAFE or comfortable at all!


Sharon Salmon
29/03/16

Delay

I called your customer relations department today, only to get a voice mail telling me there was nobody answering the phone so could I please use live chat. I went onto live chat in the morning and there were 29 people in front of me. I could not wait that long so I came back on in the afternoon. I was 5 in waiting. I have now waited for over two hours to get a live chat person. I have been number 1 for over an hour. Finally I clicked on the button that said email you if I didn't want to wait only to find there was nowhere to email to. Because of this I then lost the connection to the live chat and it is now 17.06. This is the worst live chat I have ever used in my life. So much for building Customer Relations!


Kevin Edwards
29/03/16

Other

I made a complaint a while ago and was given the reference number VT-180216-1059. I sent my train details back as requested but have not heard anything since, can you help me please.


Craig Nicholson
29/03/16

Other

I would like to register a complaint regarding the 21.21 train from Leeds to Doncaster on Sunday 27th March.

My journey was ruined when a group of approximately 12 drunken passengers (men and women) sat near to me. All still drinking alcohol, smoking e-cigarettes, swearing and being inappropriate. One woman in particular touched me and being sexually suggestive.

The train was full, and there was nowhere else for me to move to.

I have noticed that there never seems to be anyone checking tickets at this time of night, so there was no-one to report to. The week previous on this same route, there were a number of drunks on board, but again, no-one checking tickets.

I have to say the journey on Sunday 27th was this worst travel experience I have had, and I do use the trains a lot. I am now looking at alternatives methods of transport, but wanted to make you aware of this increasing problem.


Anonymous
28/03/16

Delay

travelled from Stevenage to Leeds 9.08 26th March, a 3.15 min journey - stag do in the carriage who made everyone's journey in coach C horrendous. Disgusting language behaviour and numerous bottles of sprits drunk on 9.08 train, I had planned to work on the long journey . Unfortunately nowhere to move too and was with doubt the most awful, unpleasant journey I have every experienced.


Ken Cook
19/03/16

Wifi

Travelled from Newcastle to Kings X on the 4:45am on 19th March 2016.

Paid 88.00 GBP for a 1st Class Seat.

WiFi worked for first hour only .... this is the 3rd occasion that I have taken a Virgin train in the past 4 years so I can confirm that there has been no improvement with the WiFi.

Received 2 coffees & 'mini loaf' free but expected at least a Sandwich .... obviously expecting too much.

Decided to buy 'Toastie' from Buffet Car .... paid 4.00 GBP for what was the worst culinary experience in 58 years !

Very, very poor value for money.


Ken Cook
19/03/16

Food

Travelled from Newcastle to Kings X on the 4:45am on 19th March 2016.

Paid 88.00 GBP for a 1st Class Seat.

WiFi worked for first hour only .... this is the 3rd occasion that I have taken a Virgin train in the past 4 years so I can confirm that there has been no improvement with the WiFi.

Received 2 coffees & 'mini loaf' free but expected at least a Sandwich .... obviously expecting too much.

Decided to buy 'Toastie' from Buffet Car .... paid 4.00 GBP for what was the worst culinary experience in 58 years !

Very, very poor value for money.


lin porter
19/03/16

Unhelpful Staff

Travelling locally from wolverhampton to birmingham international with a wheel chair. Staff at wolverhampton were rude and unhelpful and clearly did not want to know when asked for platform assistance for ramps and phoning ahead for leaving train which they did do.Team leader Simon did not want to know or listen to complaints about staff attitudes or failure to deliver assistance which they advertise. My first and last experience of travelling with someone in a wheel cgair by rail. So distressing, we never want to do it again.


Zane
14/03/16

Delay

Firstly you should allow more than one option for complaints as I have numerous.

Delay (I was not allowed on my booked train due to overcrowding)

Broken Toilet

Dirty Toilet

Dirty Train

Over Crowding

I have never had more issues with travel than on Sunday the 13th between London and Manchester (and I have been travelling using various train companies for work twice a week for over a decade excluding my standard 1 hr daily commute)

Initially I was on the 10.20 out of London Euston arriving at 13.08 and should have returned on the 19.15 arriving back at 21.31 (this was not possible due to overcrowding at Manchester Piccadilly meant I THINK we finally left at 8.25 (two trains later than I should have.

This was the most horrific journey I have ever been on and completely reunited the christening I was suppose to enjoy.