Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

This site is not affiliated with Virgin Trains.

The voice of the people written by the people. We all know how hard it is to be heard by big corporations, If you have a complaint for Virgin Trains post it below.

Disclaimer

Please Note: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the traveling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in all our web pages, the content is naturally subject to change and we cannot guarantee its accuracy or currency. We reserve the right to make changes to the information on the site without notice.

Our website has links to many third party information providers who are not affiliated with us. We do not endorse any of these sites, nor the information or merchandise contained or offered by these sites. We cannot make any warranties as to the accuracy, reliability or security of any information you might be requested to give any third party and, in no event shall we be liable for any damages whatsoever.

  • Complaints on Twitter


    Complaint Stats

    Total complaints this month: 11.

    There were 7 complaints posted last month.

    Total complaints posted this year: 75


    Top 5 complaint types

  • Post a Complaint

    All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

    Broken Toilet - Andriy Bulygin

    No toilet paper in coach G(first class) 18:40 train to Birmingham.
    2014-11-23 19:50:38

    Other - Matthew Gradidge

    I paid for wifi yesterday but the service just didn't work. Going to submit a claim for a refund but here is no option for wifi refunds. Tried calling and as expected there was a huge queue on the support line. Anyone know a way to submit a complaint about wifi?
    2014-11-20 09:15:14

    Delay - Paul O'Brien

    I travel regularly on the Manchester - Euston service. Over the last 6 to 12 months, there has been no hand washing water in any of the toilets and I hear constant complaints about the dirty condition and lack of paper. Clearly, this is a public health hazard and must be remedied. Come on Virgin, get a grip.
    2014-11-19 17:46:36

    Other - Sian Lerwill

    Virgin trains-speak a new language? On Saturday we were asked to detrain when our train journey was stopped owing to (not DUE TO ) signal failure between Preston and Lancaster. Detrain? What's wrong with get out or get off or even our old faithful alight?
    2014-11-10 22:59:27

    Ticketing - Michael

    I had to come back a dayearly from London Due to my father in law dying. I asked at the station if I could use my tickets a day early and the woman at the information desk at Euston station said yes. I went to the platform and was told I could not use these tickets that I had to upgrade. The train was due in 15 mins and was the last train and my wife was desperate to get back home so I had to pay an extra £310.30 to get there. I complained when I got back and was told that I would get a full refund and have the emails to prove it as I was given the wrong info. Since then my father in law has died and Virgin have did not give me a full refund only a part refund of £88. I have tried to contact them again but they just ignore my emails. They are definitely a hard hearted bunch.
    2014-11-10 20:55:00

    Other - Mrs S M Thomas

    I had pre-booked tickets with seat reservations for the 7th November on the 10.35 train to Euston from Manchester Piccadilly. The 10.15 train from Manchester to Euston did not arrive therefore the 10.35 train from Manchester to Euston was double booked and seat reservations where cancelled I could not get a seat to sit next to my friend who had also got a seat reservation and we was unable to travel together. Also due to overcrowding the buffet bar was closed. I was not told of the cancelled reservation tickets until I was on the train. Very disappointed with Virgin as we travel every year for the Remembrance celebrations together.
    2014-11-10 12:41:41

    Other - Michael Greatorex

    My Wife and I "OAP" caught the 0945 on 08/11/2014 from Wolverhampton to London Euston. This Train must have broken every safety rule in the book.Old people,like ourselves, mothers and children were crammed in and standing for the whole journey. I cannot accept, that due to signaling problems at Preston, one Unit was sent to London. Thank heaven that there was not an accident. Come on Virgin.
    2014-11-09 14:07:16

    Other - Kelly hollis

    Booked first class tickets for the 9.45 to birm international on the 8th November not offered refreshments, and could not get seat reserved as train was changed, I thought booking first class for the first time would be stress free may as well gone in any carriage not a happy customer
    2014-11-08 10:20:03

    Broken Toilet - Anon

    I travelled on the 18:55 last night (2 Nov) from Manchester to London and 2 toilets were broken, and the rest were filthy and had no toilet paper, even in First Class. I asked twice within the first 45 mins of the journey if they could re-stock the paper so female passengers could use a toilet, twice I was told they would, but they didn't. And don't even get me started about your wi-fi! Thanks for such marvellous Customer Service, Virgin (NOT.)
    2014-11-03 12:46:02

    Unhelpful Staff - Oyinda

    I was travelling with my two daughters aged 2 & 4 years to Liverpool for a half term break, I also travel 1st class when on a train with themes I find it easier to cope on my own. I went for a cheaper ticket that would take me to Crewe and then I would get a connection to LIverpool. We got on the 11.10 train to Chester, which would take us to Crewe, from the minute we got on the train manager was a nightmare. She came up to me stating 'This is a first class cabin' to which I replied 'I know ' We sat down and when she came round checking tickets, she said 'you only have one ticket.' Yes, I'm travelling with two children under five I said. SHE then said 'we will not have food for them'. ( in a cabin with over 8 empty seats) I answered: that's not a problem as I am capable of feeding my children and they are not hungry. Twice during the journey she came up to my girls who were talking to themselves saying 'shush' and 'keep the noise levels down' and then proceeds to talk to her colleague in a loud voice. My kids then spent the rest of the journey looking behind them in her direction before they spoke. I know I am a black woman and we often get stereotyped, but we can pay for first class seats, and it is normal for an adult to travel with two children under five with the one ticket. As for not having enough food to give accompanying children, what utter rubbish. I travel London to Liverpool route at least every month and also to Manchester. I have had my two daughters on various occasion without any such abuse and attitude. It was disgusting, and it took a lot of self control and the fact that my two impressionable children were present to not give her a piece of my mind. Silly Woman. I do know I will definitely not travel the London to Chester route on Virgin trains.
    2014-11-02 22:33:21

    Unhelpful Staff - Anonymous

    On departure from llandudno to euston, Sunday 2nd nov at 11.40am, we wanted to make the most of the weekend first class upgrade but there were only three seats left that were available. The train manager was sitting across two seats and when I politely asked him to move to the single seat so my husband and I could sit together, his reply was "uh....nope (stern voice) as I have many things to do." So much for customer service....
    2014-11-02 11:49:28

    Delay - Bob Romanoff

    It has taken over an hour and a lot of frustration booking a journey online. I was continually informed that my details were incorrect, which they were NOT and was forced to re-enter them time and time again. I had to use a card I did not wish to do so as my valid MasterCard did not match the erroneous information that was had been stored!!
    2014-10-27 22:07:34

    Other - mark shaw

    Im finding it a problem more and more whilst traveling that no ticket checks are being done i always buy from my station before travel (Lancaster) how many people travel for free? How much are you losing? Also the sheer amount of delays 10/15 mins a time changing platforms at last min??? And finally the price of parking my car at your stations has gone up? Ticket prices gone up? Is there a reason to travel with you? Not at the moment i think??? Along with a recent trip to Glasgow in a train that was FILTHY and this was an early early train coupled with the disgusting state of the toilets the train manager was simply not interested in my complaint...So will you be? I doubt it somehow...will wait with interest!
    2014-10-25 20:52:41

    Delay - John Edwards

    I noticed this evening a on a return trip from London Euston to the N.West,how much standards have deteriorated in first class. The free wi-fi is hopeless. So slow and unreliable that my ipad was un useable as it kept dropping connection. Virgin state that they are addressing the problem (but have been saying that for at least the last month). The loos are horrible nothing works and the hot air hand dryers are hopeless.
    2014-10-10 21:13:57

    Delay - Kerry vaughan

    I have paid for the Internet onboard the train and need to access different websites which could not be done. I also had work emails to reply to and again due to the Internet being really slow this did not happen on the train from Stockport to Euston today. Please can you confirm an outcome as I have paid for a service to continue with my work needs. I have used the service before and not been a concern but this was today.
    2014-10-08 20:51:04

    Unhelpful Staff - Graham Baldwin

    2nd of October Flint to London Euston, 6.20 train, there for 6.00, office closed fast track ticket machine out of service. 6.15 office manager opens up, I require if ticket office open, told no, I inform him ticket machine,out of action, his comment "you don't say" in sarcastic tone, he stated have to get tickets at Chester, which i did and missed transfer to London, and was late for meeting not happy he opened up office at 6.15 and not informed me use trains twice a week never had comments like that
    2014-10-04 13:15:39

    Ticketing - lucy Aitken

    I have recently bought tickets which i only booked as they were on offer, after i received the tickets i noticed the wrong date for departure. I arranged for this to be amended which was fine untill i got my refund i was down on £20. After a discussion on the phone it was bought to light it is a £10 per ticket admin charge. This is an utter disgrace, virgin is a multi million pound company in sure it doesn't cost that amount of time effort snd money to reprint a ticket. As a consequence of this im now not any better of than using am other train company. I am disgusted and WILL NOT be using this greedy company again id rather go the extra mile with someone else.
    2014-10-04 10:25:51

    Unhelpful Staff - David Rostance

    I am writing to complain about the poor standard of service I have just witnessed at Wolverhampton station. I visited the station this afternoon to collect some pre-paid tickets from the dispensing machine only to find that the computer system was down. The tickets were not for use today but they were purchased by me on behalf of my wife so it is necessary for me to collect them using my credit card. I was not too concerned about the inconvenience because the journey to be made is in two days time so I can try again tomorrow. I can appreciate that computer systems sometimes crash but what alarmed me was the fact that a long queue had formed but only one of the five ticket windows was open. A woman in the queue was clearly distressed because she was afraid that she was going to miss her train. She pleaded with other people in the queue to let her go first to no avail and then sought the assistance of a Virgin Trains employee who happened to be walking through the ticket hall but seemed to be unwilling to offer any help. I can appreciate that computer systems crash but I find it unacceptable that no contingency arrangements were brought into play. Apart from the one man selling tickets, I could see other people in the ticket office apparently doing nothing. Furthermore, I think that the "customer care" offered by the individual referred to above was seriously lacking. I would even go so far to say that she was rude to the prospective passenger. I don’t know if the woman managed to catch her train or not. I would be interested to know if these shortcomings can be blamed on lack of initiative and social skills on the part of station personnel or is it company policy to provide inadequate staffing?
    2014-10-02 15:22:26

    Other - Anonymous

    My husband and I travelled in first class coach H on the 1600 VIrgin service on Sunday 28th September from Euston to Coventry. Firstly the train was dirty - a member of staff was trying to clear tHe worst of the rubbish as we boarded but the tables and floor were filthy. Secondly we were given a snack box that we hoped to eat with the promised drink. However the drinks trolley only arrived in our carriage as we were pulling in to Coventry - more than an hour into our journey. Lastly, we book first class to be able to work. This proved impossible since the Internet connection was to weak to enable us to access even our email.
    2014-09-29 18:04:37

    Delay - Penny wright

    We booked first class return tickets to london as a treat on sat 27 September On the way out there was no water on the train therefore no hot drinks and on our return journey there were no seats and we had to sit in normal seats , really disappointed !
    2014-09-29 12:40:42

In The News

Shropshire rail delays after freight train breaks down « Shropshire Star

Trains between Shrewsbury and Crewe were being delayed by 40 minutes this morning after a freight train broke down. ... operate to be affected." Other trains on the line are operated by Virgin Trains. by Taboolaby Taboola.

1 Oct 2014 | 7:00 am

Tortoise missing - suspected stolen - This Is Lancashire


Tortoise missing - suspected stolen
This Is Lancashire
Traffic & travel. Last updated 08.52 with 173 incidents. London Midland London Midland Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem · Virgin Trains Virgin Trains Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem ...

and more »

23 Sep 2014 | 3:40 pm

Boyband Rixton reveal biggest UK tour to date - This Is Lancashire


This Is Lancashire

Boyband Rixton reveal biggest UK tour to date
This Is Lancashire
Traffic & travel. Last updated 08.52 with 173 incidents. London Midland London Midland Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem · Virgin Trains Virgin Trains Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem ...

and more »

24 Jul 2014 | 12:02 pm

Croft Lane closure: Latest from United Utilities - This Is Lancashire


Croft Lane closure: Latest from United Utilities
This Is Lancashire
Traffic & travel. Last updated 08.52 with 173 incidents. London Midland London Midland Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem · Virgin Trains Virgin Trains Delays of up to one hour due to earlier signalling problem ...

and more »

11 Jul 2014 | 1:04 pm

Middlewich woman awarded MBE - Middlewich Guardian


Middlewich Guardian

Middlewich woman awarded MBE
Middlewich Guardian
Traffic & travel. Last updated 10.07 with 6 incidents. London Midland London Midland Delays of up to 20 minutes due to earlier signalling problem · Virgin Trains Virgin Trains Delays of up to 20 minutes due to earlier signalling problem ...

27 Jun 2014 | 7:03 am

About Us

Living in London I spend more time sat on a train than I ever do at my desks or with my family, and it's an ever straining effort to get to our destinations especially with the increase in rail fares.

This site was setup to voice the opinions of fellow commuters, give you a voice. The only way to do something about the situation faced by us every day is to create a place where everybody is welcome to have their own say and in doing so, perhaps we may just be able to use Virgin Trains Complaints for the greater good :)

hello@virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk