Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

This site is not affiliated with Virgin Trains.

The voice of the people written by the people. We all know how hard it is to be heard by big corporations, If you have a complaint for Virgin Trains post it below.

Disclaimer

Please Note: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the traveling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in all our web pages, the content is naturally subject to change and we cannot guarantee its accuracy or currency. We reserve the right to make changes to the information on the site without notice.

Our website has links to many third party information providers who are not affiliated with us. We do not endorse any of these sites, nor the information or merchandise contained or offered by these sites. We cannot make any warranties as to the accuracy, reliability or security of any information you might be requested to give any third party and, in no event shall we be liable for any damages whatsoever.

  • Complaints on Twitter


    Complaint Stats

    Total complaints this month: 13.

    There were 5 complaints posted last month.

    Total complaints posted this year: 13


    Top 5 complaint types

  • Post a Complaint

    All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

    Delay - Alistair

    I requested assistance from Virgin via their online form, after two days of no reply i contacted via email. This was repeated several times over the next ten days. Ten days and still no response from Virgin customer services!! As I was abroad I had no option but to ring the 0800 number which I should warn you about, it costs a fortune from abroad. Anyway, I got through to Virgins customer services which I presume were based in India and informed the operator of the assistance I needed. He had no idea where I was or the location of my travel, he also struggled to understand my Northern accent, which I may add, worked both ways. If all Virgin help lines and customer services are the same terrible service as this one, there is no way I would sign up for any of Virgin services. Not that they give a sh.t anyway!
    2015-01-29 01:01:57

    Other - Paul Butters

    I have made two complaints about two seperate seriously delayed trains as I was suggested to do so by staff from before Christmas. I have not recieved a reply to either complaint.
    2015-01-24 17:05:37

    Cancellation - Anonymous

    To whom it may concern, I recently purchased a return ticket between Fratton Hampshire and Preston Lancashire to travel to Preston from Fratton on Sunday 11th January 2015 and return on Tuesday 13th January. I had researched both journeys prior to travelling there and back to ensure that I arrived in plenty of time for appointments and meetings which had been scheduled in to my Business Trip. One Meeting which was particularly important was a 7pm Meeting in Preston so I planned to arrive in Preston for around 17:30pm on Sunday. I left on Sunday 11th and caught the 11.57am Train service to London Waterloo. I arrived at London Waterloo and caught the Tube where I had been advised on the journey planner to catch my connecting train from London Euston to Preston Lancashire. When I arrived at London Euston Station it was packed with angry passengers wanting to get home who had all been informed that Trains to the North had been cancelled due to a fault on the line or something. After queuing for 30 minutes to get to the information desk I was advised that my train had been cancelled and that I would have to walk to Kings Cross to get a train to Doncaster where I would get a connecting train to Preston. I walked over to Kings Cross and caught a Train to Doncaster as advised. The train was packed solid and I had to sit on the floor by one of the Exits all the way to Doncaster! When I arrived at Doncaster I could not see any trains to Preston so I went over to Information again. I was then advised that I could not get to Preston directly as there was not one, I would have to get a Train to Leeds to get another connecting train!!! I caught a train to Leeds where I had to sit on the floor again for the entire journey. To say that I was not amused would be an understatement. At this point I knew that I had already missed my first meeting and wasted an entire day travelling on a train- on the floor! When I arrived at Leeds Station I was told to wait over 30 minutes for a Train to Blackpool where I could get off at Preston. On this train there was a fault with the air conditioning in the only carriage that I could get a seat in- so I sat on the train freezing cold. I arrived at Preston at 9pm!! I am requesting a full refund for this as I do not expect to pay £115 to sit on the floor and to travel in complete discomfort- it is totally unacceptable. On my return journey I left on the 3.59 train from Preston to London Euston, got the tube (as advised) to London Waterloo station. When I arrived at London Waterloo I was utterly shocked and completely disgusted to see that my connecting train to Fratton, Hampshire was Cancelled. Not only were the trains showing up as delayed or cancelled- none of the platforms were revealed until the very last minute so I was being pushed here there and everywhere by panicking passengers from all directions! I then saw that the next connecting train to Portsmouth had also been cancelled. I waited and saw that the only way of getting home at that point advertised on the board was to travel on a train which went to Basingstoke and Fareham before it arrived in Fratton after 10pm at night!!! I really hope that you can help me with this as I am deeply disappointed with the service I have received. Regards, Jade- 02392 328745
    2015-01-22 11:43:33

    Other - Yissochor Merlin.

    05/01/2015 To whom it may concern. Re: journey from Manchester picc. to London Eust. 1. I purchased two return tickets for myself & my wife (Mrs Miriam Merlin). Departing from Manchester Picc. Arriving at London Eust. (01/01/15- dep: 12:15pm, arr: 2:24pm). Due to cancellation of this train (which I wasn’t informed about), we had to take the next train at 12:35 pm which was due to arrive in London at 2:43pm and the train only arrived at 2:57pm. Because of this we missed an important meeting which was due to take place at 2:40pm. 2. We purchased the above tickets with a ‘TWO TOGETHER RAILCARD’ for £83.00. on the train, when asked for the railcard, we had the railcard, but couldn’t find our photo card – realising that we must have left it at home by error. We’ve never had such a problem before. We were told that we have to buy new return tickets, this costed us another £159.00 (which I had to borrow my friend’s debit card for) We had a very bad experience travelling with your trains and lost a big sum of money due to this. We are expecting to be compensated for this. Yours faithfully, Yissochor Merlin.
    2015-01-21 20:52:15

    Other - Stephanie

    buy a weekly ticket every week from Milton Keynes and get the 6.56am train and varied in the evenings, very rarely have a seat. Today was horrible standing in the middle of the isle over seated passengers the whole way to London. Its not acceptable to have to stand most of my journeys. 2-3 first class carriages practically empty.
    2015-01-21 12:17:14

    Delay - Maria McCracken

    My train from Penrith to Carlisle was held up for 15mins, there for I missed my connection to Dumfries and had to wait for 2 1/2hrs for another train. It was windy and raining and I had nowhere to go, I had travelled from Cambridge that day 15th January. The ticket office woman sent me to the Team Leaders office, I explained the situation to them and they said they could not help me, their attitude to this was very unpleasant & rude.
    2015-01-20 17:33:50

    Ticketing - Yizhou Wang

    I purchased 4 return tickets from London to Glasgow for 4 ppl for normal e-tickets price. After the payment I realized that actually there are Group-E tickets available only for half price. I am not happy that during my on-line purchase, no notices or information promoted to let me know that the Group-E tickets can save more money. Therefore here I am complaining the on-line tickets service system of Virgin Train and also require the repayment back to me the difference of the normal ticket price and Group-E ticket price. Please be advised that this repayment is adjustment to correct price that we expected to pay for our group tickets, not any refund or any amendment as stated in the terms and conditions. Many thanks. My booking reference is 2133501675.
    2015-01-20 13:42:03

    Unhelpful Staff - amir raza

    dear sir, yesterday, i went to Birmingham train station, and when i ws on board i lost my e tickit in the train staion,, buit i have my e tickit in my cell phone,, i show ur staff but he not help me he said you must have ur e tickit,,and he offload me i m your old client, mostly i travel to viirgin train but next i promises i not travel with you,,my booking ref num is 2132963735 kindly refund my money,, hope you give me fast and positive reply regard amir raza
    2015-01-18 16:16:11

    Delay - Angela Britland

    The refreshments in First Class are not the standard that I have enjoyed on previous journeys. After being on train an hour I was given a snack box containing crisps, biscuits and water! 20 minutes later, t tepid tea in a paper cup! What happened to sandwiches, fruit, cake, abundant tea In mugs and paper napkins? I am very disappointed and hungry!
    2015-01-18 13:03:59

    Delay - Simon barker

    I travelled home from Crewe last night the 14th January 2015.the train should of been stopping at warrington bank quay,on boarding the train and after setting off we were informed that it would not be stopping at warrington,and would continue to wigan north western.the train travelled through Stockport,then manchester and arrived at wigan at 21-30pm.I am disgusted that after setting off your staff member announced that we wouldn't be stopping at warrington bank quay.why would they do that? I was stranded at wigan and had to get find my own way home from wigan.I use your service everyday and it costs me £14-50,The service I am receiving is very poor indeed.This is not the first time this week I gave been delayed and won't be the last.I would like this matter looked in to and a satisfactory conclusion resolved for myself. Regards Simon Barker 07807162642
    2015-01-15 10:39:26

    Delay - David Reid

    Had 7 train tickets on Virgin train from Crewe to London Euston yesterday the 11th February. Should have been in London Euston fro o14.04 but spent the next 4 hours being sent to Coventry and then Birmingham to pick up a suburban train at Birmingham Moor Street to London Marlybone and spent 21/2 hours standing! The problem was overhead cable problems at Rugby but the service was awful and I would like to know if Virgin trains will be compensating myself and the other 6 passengers that I had tickets for.
    2015-01-12 07:51:21

    Ticketing - Liam

    Virgin Trains sold me a Virgin-only return ticket from Manchester to Bangor. OK. On my return journey (Sunday 4th of January, 2015), I checked the website (a few websites actually) to find a Virgin-only route home. Guess what? None available. There were no options for Virgin-only trains between those stations on that day. Can Virgin really sell me a ticket for a train that doesn't exist?? Also related to this, there is no option on the journey planner website to limit the route to one train company. On the National Rail journey planner I selected 'Travel On - Virgin Trains' and it gave me a bonkers route using three train companies and going BACK the way I had come for part of the journey! Virgin Trains need to stop selling Virgin-only tickets for journeys that don't exist.
    2015-01-05 14:21:47

    Delay - Shivani Patel

    Train was cancelled to London Euston. I had to be in London by 3 o'clock for an important meeting but could not make it. I also had to wait 30minutes for the next train as I could not get a London Midland service.
    2015-01-02 13:46:39

    Unhelpful Staff - Clare hall

    I have just ended a call with the most unhelpful and rude member of staff from your online call centre. After a long time of trying to book a family of five on a return journey from liverpool to euston this Saturday 20th December. This was online. I was attempting to ensure that we were all sat together given our children are all under the age of 12. The website did not give any success in this so I called the centre, hoping to book our tickets. I was absolutely appalled to be spoken to by 'Pooja', and I could simply understand a word of which she was saying. Quite simply, Pooja was impossible to understand and could not give me any logical or understandable solutions to our journey. I am a teacher who works in a school with multi ethnic backgrounds and so I am very understandable of varying races and spoken languages such as this. However, in the UK, you would expect that, if you can't book a journey online, you would be able to call the centre and complete the booking in that way. If English staff were employed, then perhaps that would be the case! Absolutely disgusted with virgin trains. Our trip will not be happening. Please make sure that your call centre staff speak English, surely that's a basic ?
    2014-12-14 19:06:54

    Other - Lynn sweeney

    Complaining about Euston Birmingham 9.45pm Saturday. The train was full standing room only. It was was packed to bursting dangerous ,health and safety would have a field day here. No room to move fights braking out police called, we have paid for this service disgusting
    2014-12-11 17:38:28

    Delay - kulwinder

    The service at preston station was appalling, the train from to birmingham was dealyed by one hour and no announcement were made to keep the passenger updated. Found virgin staff arrogant and vey unhelpful, it was freezing and not knowing what time on the next train ????? Will never be commuting on virgin trains again!!
    2014-12-10 11:40:58

    Unhelpful Staff - Emma

    I'm writing to complain about a member of your staff member on your virgin pendilino service 11:58 to London euston on Wednesday 3rd December. I was late getting to the train due to university classes and the front entrance and ticket desks were blocked off to the public so I had to walk round which took longer. I looked on your website and it does say that I can buy a ticket on board and didn't specifically state what payment method. I only had my card due to be rushing home after my classes. I was approached by the instructor who when approached me had an attitude and pin pointed me when there was an elderly gentleman next to me. She took my card, and then stated it was declined. I did day politely that it shouldn't be declined because I did have enough money but she said 'well yes but some cards don't work'. Well other than she was existent rude and afterwards was waving my card in my face saying I could be prosecuted. Then she insistingly was asking me questions about why I couldn't get a ticket before and me explaining that I have been in classes all day and needed to get this train to get home she then said 'well they run oftenly enough so you should have got one before boarding'. Her attitude towards me was discusting and didn't speak to me like a paying customer. I did pay for my ticket even though she was treating me like I refused to pay. Towards the end of out encounter she asked me whether I had a pen. Aren't all staff members suppose to carry a pen to mark tickets incase there clicker didn't work? The woman I spoke to was a older women who had no interest with talking to me which concluded in her talking to me in a rude manner. I have paid on board before by a friendly and pleasant instructor. For future reference can you specify on your website that card payments may 'sometimes' work. Not everyone will have time to get a ticket before boarding or may not have cash but don't deserve to be spoken to the way I was. I will think twice about using virgin trains next time as I am treated like a inconvenience.
    2014-12-03 19:23:34

    Unhelpful Staff - Matt

    I'm writing to complain about extremely rude and helpful train manager on the 16:35pm train from Manchester Piccadilly to London Euston on Saturday 29th November 2014. How can these employees think that they can speak to people the way they do. It seems like you get some nice ones but the majority have no concept of customer service. The train manager was called COLIN, and the problem was that I had no ticket as I rushed to get on the train. I wanted to buy a ticket (off peak) for £65 but he said I could only buy a full price ticket for £133!!!! That's nonesense, as i have bought off peak return tickets regularly on the trains from the train manager. He was rude, abrasive and had absolutely no respect. I decided to travel on London Midland on the way home and will do in the future to avoid these unhelpful staff.
    2014-12-03 16:41:45

    Delay - Anonymous

    I take violent exception to the recent email I received about terrible disruption to travelling in Feb 2015; "We're Throwing A Spanner In The Works - Hi [first name], we'd hate you to get stuck...' this is a withdrawal on several Mondays of a service for which there is no replacement and their facetious and over familiar language just adds insult to injury. They betray no consciousness that commuters are human beings or anything other than a statistic which must be shut up via a No Reply email. This company should not be running any railway.
    2014-11-28 20:24:56

    Dirty Toilet - Clare

    On the 17.30pm from Glasgow Central my journey was unpleasant, frustrating and did not deliver what was promised because of utterly pointless and broke wifi (reported three times, rang Helpline), Appalling dry, terrible salad with chicken drier than a cracker, two small cheery tomatoes and two slices of dry cucumber (photos available), filthy toilets (photos available)and a temperature fluctuation that would challenge any menopause. I bought a first class ticket, had to buy my own dinner in the cafe carriage as the first class one was inedible, couldn't work so lost half a day of work which will have to be now tomorrow on top of my normal day because the wifi didn't work and was late arriving in london. Staff were nice but seriously a clean loo, working wifi and edible simple food is a start. Perhaps do that first before trying togo into space. Thanks Clare
    2014-11-24 22:12:24

In The News

Signalling problem causes train delays between Milton Keynes ...

The routes affected by the delays are London Midland trains between London Euston and Northampton / Birmingham New Street and Virgin Trains between London Euston and Birmingham New Street / Glasgow Central ...

2 Jan 2015 | 2:00 pm

Japan joins voices condemning Sony Pictures cyber attack - Preston and Leyland Citizen


Japan joins voices condemning Sony Pictures cyber attack
Preston and Leyland Citizen
If a few days ago you had to place bets on the trigger of World War 3, a screwball comedy starring Seth Rogan and James Franco would probably not have been near the top of your list. But the leaders of Japan have now waded into the furore, condemning ...

and more »

22 Dec 2014 | 5:03 pm

Andrew Sachs for EastEnders cameo - Blackburn Citizen


Andrew Sachs for EastEnders cameo
Blackburn Citizen
Traffic & travel. Last updated 17.47 with 23 incidents. First Transpennine Express First Transpennine Express Delays of up to 45 minutes due to obstruction on the line · Virgin Trains Virgin Trains Delays of up to 45 minutes due to obstruction on the ...

and more »

22 Dec 2014 | 11:51 am

Peter Capaldi: Not everyone likes my Doctor - Blackburn Citizen


Blackburn Citizen

Peter Capaldi: Not everyone likes my Doctor
Blackburn Citizen
Peter Capaldi has admitted he isn't universally loved in his role on Doctor Who. The Thick Of It star took over as the Time Lord in the most recent series of the BBC sci-fi hit, but although he has won over many fans, he conceded that not everyone ...

and more »

22 Dec 2014 | 11:26 am

What has Kourtney Kardashian called her baby son? - Preston and Leyland Citizen


Preston and Leyland Citizen

What has Kourtney Kardashian called her baby son?
Preston and Leyland Citizen
Kourtney Kardashian has revealed the name she has given her baby son – and shared the first picture of the newborn. The US reality TV star and her husband Scott Disick welcomed their new arrival a few days ago and have now announced that he will be ...

and more »

22 Dec 2014 | 10:46 am

About Us

Living in London I spend more time sat on a train than I ever do at my desks or with my family, and it's an ever straining effort to get to our destinations especially with the increase in rail fares.

This site was setup to voice the opinions of fellow commuters, give you a voice. The only way to do something about the situation faced by us every day is to create a place where everybody is welcome to have their own say and in doing so, perhaps we may just be able to use Virgin Trains Complaints for the greater good :)

hello@virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk