Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

This site is not affiliated with Virgin Trains.

The voice of the people written by the people. We all know how hard it is to be heard by big corporations, If you have a complaint for Virgin Trains post it below.

Disclaimer

Please Note: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the traveling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in all our web pages, the content is naturally subject to change and we cannot guarantee its accuracy or currency. We reserve the right to make changes to the information on the site without notice.

Our website has links to many third party information providers who are not affiliated with us. We do not endorse any of these sites, nor the information or merchandise contained or offered by these sites. We cannot make any warranties as to the accuracy, reliability or security of any information you might be requested to give any third party and, in no event shall we be liable for any damages whatsoever.

  • Complaints on Twitter


    Complaint Stats

    Total complaints this month: 3.

    There were 7 complaints posted last month.

    Total complaints posted this year: 49


    Top 5 complaint types

  • Post a Complaint

    All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

    Other - Kerry

    My children and I were sat under broken air con that was absolutely freezing. The shop was not open for the first hour and 20 minutes of our journey, I am pregnant and suffering sickness and needed water, my children were also very hungry.
    2014-09-14 19:50:22

    Unhelpful Staff - kareema

    Currently sitting at stoke on trent station after my son and partner were stuck on the train I asked before the train had left if they were still on there the woman was reluctant to help my sons is epileptic and now travelling without his emergency meds we've also missed most of our day planned at Alton towers which cost 75pound for 2day thanks to incompetence and impatience so not only has he been left at risk he is also missing his birthday present id say pretty terrible for 120pound tickets not happy at all!!!!!!!!
    2014-09-11 13:00:11

    Ticketing - Laura Seedhouse

    Dear Virgin Trains, I have booked a 2 week trip to Canada for my Fiancé’s 50th, I’ve arranged several hotels, several excursions, several flights and the only thing that’s caused any upset, annoyance, stress or anger is booking the trains to London through Virgin to get to the airport!!! I was attempting to book First Class tickets from Leeds to Kings Cross on Sunday 14th September at 13.05. However every time I got to the payment page it declared that my card had been declined. I then phoned my bank – twice just to make sure there was no problem with my card. They checked, double-checked and they guaranteed that there weren’t any issues with my card. I then spoke to your customer services department, who found it very difficult to understand me; similarly I found it very difficult to understand them. Clearly a language barrier does not help in these circumstances. Anyway, they said that it was a website fault, not a card decline that was preventing the purchase, but they could still not assist me in purchasing the tickets sat in my shopping basket. They said this had to be done online. I could not purchase the tickets in my basket, or remove them, but I could not purchase any other tickets while they were sat in there. I watched the prices of the first class tickets go up and out of my budget for both my preferred time and then for my alternative time an hour later. The first woman I spoke to said she’d look at my account and call me back in 2 minutes. 10 minutes went by with no call. I called back and spoke to a man who said there was no note on my account to call me back. He then continued in a similar patronising manner to read out the same information that was in front of me on the screen. I can’t say this was useful! Through concern of all ticket costs going up, I was forced to create an alternative account under a separate email address and purchase standard tickets for my alternative time of 14.05 – losing time in London and going via standard class – something I wouldn’t normally mind, but I didn’t want to do this for such a special occasion. Having looked at the ticket prices and availability today, the first class options are annoyingly, once again available. So I called your customer services again and asked to upgrade, they said I could but only for an administrative fee of £10 per ticket. I explained all that had happened above and that the problem had arose from a website error that was the fault of Virgin, not me, but she said (without empathy or politeness) that it was not possible to wave the fee. I thought that there was a possibility of a Supervisor understanding the situation a little more, so I asked to speak to them. I was on hold for 20 minutes without speaking to anyone before I gave up. I’ve got to say that this isn’t the service I’d expected from Virgin. I’m really disappointed and I’d really appreciate it if you could help me upgrade the tickets and restore my faith in Virgin! Yours sincerely, Laura Seedhouse
    2014-09-08 11:16:37

    Unhelpful Staff - linda nixon

    On 26th August I travelled with my daughter and granddaughter to LLandudno from Crewe. We were to change at Llandudno junction. At every station arrival was announced on board, but NOT when we approached LLandudno Junction, so we quickly grabbed bags and made our way to the end of the carriage and door, only to see a notice on door that this was not in use , a member of staff confirmed this .. she was just standing by, and before we had chance to move off, to another door, the train, having stopped without announcement... moved off !! He was stopped for seconds ! Us, a family of 4 or more , and another lady with two children all found ourselves on the way to Bangor ! the other family had not gone to a shut door but just didn't have the time to disembark. After we got off the train at Bangor I spoke to the driver who had a face like thunder and was very rude. We then had to wait for another train, and our journey turned into a very stressful event. Having not travelled on a train for years, this does not make me want to, I've never heard of a door that is not in use, why use that carriage then ?? What if there was an emergency ? Ridiculous. The member of staff Im sue could have pressed a button for us and told the driver to hang on, very unhelful indeed.
    2014-08-28 15:21:38

    Ticketing - Mohamed Javeed

    Extremely disappointing at Virgin's online booking service. I received a £10 discount code on my email address. So I decided to make a trip to through Virgin. However, when I made online booking I didn't get any option to enter the promotional code. So I called up Customer Service to help me redeem the voucher as this was the only reason that prompted me to book this expensive ticket. However I found that I could not redeem it once payment as already been done online. Fair enough! But at least I should have been given the option to enter the code. After further checking it turned out that the text box for Promotional Code doesn't appear on my Mozilla Firefox browser which is what I was using. (attached) So I lost my £10 due to your technical incompetency and incompatibly of Virgin website with Firefox browser. Utterly disappointing.
    2014-08-21 19:14:35

    Ticketing - michael brierton

    My12 yr old son and i are travelling to london on the 26th of sept and i specificaly asked for awindow seat with a table and power point , no problem onthe way down, but onthe way home they have got my son sitting behind or in front of me so that we are not together on the way home ? apparently they cannot change that booking through no fault of my own . surley their mistake.
    2014-08-21 09:50:09

    Ticketing - Elisha

    very unhelpful staff. After asking directly for not virgin only, fully knowing I would miss the last virgin train home. The lady then printed us Virgin only tickets. Me not realising till on my way home when I was asked to pay for a full price ticket £19.80. after the £22 I had already paid to Virgin. I've spoken to customer services and they're response was 'I cant help you' if anybody can help me or give me some advice much appreciated.
    2014-08-11 14:54:18

    Other - Martine Howard

    I am writing this email in concern about a recent purchase of first class rail tickets to London from rugely Trent valley I thought that booking on Virgin for first class we would have full benefits of first class travel, so when. We found out it was on London midland and there was not even a buffet car and the seats where the same as the others only in a first class compartment.so I'm not happy about this and would think again about booking first class travel with you in future.
    2014-08-08 19:10:34

    Unhelpful Staff - Reena Odedra

    As usual I took my 6.43 train from euston to Milton Keynes Central, however today the ticket lady stopped me from going through and told me I have to get on another train because this one is too full, and I have a rail card, I then asked her why and that I always take this train she said you can't be because they check I said you can't tell me I'm lying as I've taken this exact train before and never had a problem with it. She then told me that I was being abusive, when I had not even raised my voice, nor had I used any abusive language. She raised her voice and told me I need to leave now and get the 7.10 train, I told them again and again that I have taken this train before but none of them had time to make me understand why. I am shocked at this sort of behaviour from virgin trains as I take the train to euston always and spend a large amount of money on their tickets. I have never come across someone as rude and patronising as this lady who I spoke to today. Please can I have a response as to why this happened and why have I not been told this before?
    2014-08-06 17:54:28

    Delay - Joanna lock

    I wish to make a complaint. I brought tickets in advance and was all set to go. That is until I got to Wolverhampton station. Due to London midlands trains cancelling the train I was supposed to be on, I was already stressed enough missing my first connecting train. However, just when I thought the day wasn't going to get any worse....it does. The lovely ticket man on the train told me when the next train to euston was due and what do I find when I get there....this train was delayed too....just great! So I wait....and it gets worse...this train is also cancelled according to your screen! Cue even more stress. When a train finally turns up and we are told to get off at Birmingham....I find it actually was the 'cancelled' train to euston. So now what do I do....get off at Birmingham as ordered or stay on the train....who knows, it's not like anyone was actually telling me anything. So.....already an hour behind schedule and with people meeting me waiting for me in Romford where I should of been close to being by now I get off at Birmingham.....to be told to get back on. seriously!!!! Does many one know what's going on because I sure as hell didn't! So back on we go....and we wait...and wait....and wait. Low and behold....another faulty train, just great. Then, we are told with merely 5 minutes before it's due to leave that there is another train to euston if we wanted. So, if I wanted to get to my destination I'm now being expected to run up and down stairs to another platform with hoards of people and a very heavy suitcase!! Get there with 2 minutes to spare....to find this one is also delayed, starting to wonder if I was ever going to leave Birmingham! Through the stress of this poor service and being shockingly behind schedule making people expecting me wait an hour and a half longer than necessary and stressfully trying to sort my other connections I lost my purse. Thankfully I already had accomedation sorted but I now get to embrace my ruined holiday thanks to this dreadful train service with no money and no cards. Thank you for a ruined holiday.
    2014-08-05 06:02:51

    Other - TT Le

    @VirginTrainsWifi horrible service. I bought the 3hrs package wifi for £6 to watch them WC game and then the wifi couldn't even load a short video of 2' on the web, no need to say about the game I was looking forward to watch. The wifi connection was horrible and so disappointed. To load this page of http://virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk/ to make a complaint it took nearly 3 minutes. Virgin train wifi is a joke, and virgin train shouldn't even provide it at first cause it's so slow and hardly working. Really disappointed and sad cause i missed the match because of a horrible wifi service.! No one should buy it. Use your 3G is faster!!!
    2014-07-08 21:08:06

    Cancellation - Edwin

    I train scheduled to travel from Birmingham to London at 12.50pm was cancelled. I was put on the next train which didn't leave until 1.20pm. Causing me to miss my appointment in London. I therefore have to schedule another trip again giving me additional expenses
    2014-06-26 12:29:33

    Dirty Toilet - Sophie

    The virgin train leaving Bangor Gwynedd at 20:20 to Chester the toilet was disgusting! The smell travelled into the carriage, the floor was soaking wet, wet tissues all over the floor and the sink was over flowing. This is un expectable as I rushed to catch the train not going to the toilet with the thought that Virgin trains have toilets to find it in this condition!
    2014-06-23 20:00:13

    Delay - Belle

    (Unhelpful staff) - I travel to London everyday from Coventry. This is certainly not cheap, and for this reason, I would expect that not only is your service reliable, punctual and that your staff have an impeccable sense of customer service. Unfortunately I've been proved wrong on all accounts! Only today I wasn't allowed to board a train from London Euston despite the train still not having left the platform and 3 minutes to departure. The staff were rude and REFUSED to check my ticket and kept insisting I was late despite the train not having left the platform with all the doors still wide open. Ridiculous. After this, I find that the subsequent train is CANCELLED. And the one after that is DELAYED. When are Virgin trains going to realise that money nor time grows on trees and that their service to their customers should be built on punctuality and reasonable COMPENSATION should the trains be delayed even by 10 minutes (which has a hideous knock on effect to the rest of the morning commute). WAKE UP Virgin trains! Train your staff to think of customers as real human beings with places to get to and people to see. It's not as if these train tickets are cheap. I spend a good portion of my monthly wage on your rubbish! Its only a matter of time before we look for different modes of transport.
    2014-06-19 18:04:38

    Unhelpful Staff - Noshaba Anbreen

    This is a copy of the email I sent to virgin trains customer relations today: Dear Staff, I am writing to complain about the appauling service me and my friend received on Friday 30th May 2014 on the 20:23 train from London Euston to Birmingham New Street. According to one of your employees on board the train was supposed to have more carriages but there were far fewer than the number of seats booked. There was in issue at Euston where none of the seat reservation data loaded around the seats. This meant that the staff on the train and passengers boarding it had no idea about which seats were reserved. As someone was sat in our seats, me and my friend sat in the next available seats we could find. There was then an announcement about this from one of your staff on board, and we were told to ask people to move from our seats if they were seated in them and we had a reservation. Details of my seat number reservations and tickets are attached. When we moved along the packed train we realised that there was nowhere for many people to sit. When arriving at our seats we asked the two men seated in them politely to move as we had reservations and they point blank refused. When I brought this to the attention to one of the virgin staff they showed no interest and did not help us out. There was luggage blocking all the aisles which is a safety issue as the doors were also blocked. We then were left with no option but to sit on the hard floor on the end carriage. We had nowhere to sit for the entire journey as more pople boarded at Coventry and at Birmingham International. At one point, we had people standing around us who had got onto the train at Coventry. I was really disappointed by this level of service and would seriously reconsider booking with Virgin again. According to your staff this is a regular occurance on this service and I think it is ridiculous to endure such poor conditions being a regular customer and also having a seat reservation. Regards
    2014-06-03 10:41:57

    Unhelpful Staff - Marie Fell

    I was present on a virgin train on the 29th MAY and one of the staff came to check my ticket. She was adamant that this ticket had been used, but i was sure that it had not.. I was then ordered to pay for another ticket and my original tickets were taken form me. The womans name was Lucy- this iis due to another member of staff giving me thw womans name.I have come in contact with this woman before and had hassle after hassle with her every time. the last time was when I was bording the train, she marked my ticket whilst ini the station and once again had to pay for a ticket again on the train as the train manager at the tine said it had been used, I explained that the staff checking the tickets had marked it, but he was not having any of it. I feel that I have had a lot of trouble with this staff member and feel that i do not want any further contact with her. If she is around in future i feel as though I need to see anothe rmember of the staff. I realise she does not like me - that has been made obvious by the comments made when she speaks to me. She is very rude and obnoxious smirking at other train members whilst haveing a dig at me. I need to make this aware that all staff members are not like this, but everythime i see her she makes a beeline for me and starts on and on.
    2014-05-29 13:24:45

    Other - Laura Henderson

    I traveled from Euston to Manchester Piccadilly today, outbound 8.20am - return 3.35pm. The Wifi was not working even though when I asked the staff they said it was. I had urgent work to do which I could not do as I had no internet access. It is a shame as usually it works very efficiently. I am requesting my £6 back as I paid for the 3 hour wifi on my return journey and had no access.
    2014-05-28 19:03:17

    Other - Elizabeth Taylor

    I travelled on the 11-35 virgin train to Glasgow on Thursday 22nd mayI tried to find the duty manager before the train left but to no avail . The train was supposed to have 11 carriages but it was only 9 there was no where for people to sit it was like a cattle market when I brought this to the attention to one of the virgin staff they showed no interest . The toilets were not working in D C B which was not acceptable . There was luggage blocking all the aisles which is a safety issue as the doors were all blocked . Unfortunately I have to travel back down on Monday morning which will be the last time I use virgin trains . I look forward to hearing what you have to say on this matter. Mrs Elizabeth Taylor
    2014-05-23 09:57:30

    Delay - Dan cheesbrough

    I was booked on the 16.20 Euston to Manchester Piccadilly train on the 5/5/2014. The train didn't leave until 16.24 then spent 90 minutes stopping and starting between Euston and Watford junction. The delay was do to signal issues which is very vague. When we finally got under way we were told the train would arrive in Crewe at 19.12. This information meant I could get the 19.23 connection to chester. I was supposed to get the 18.23. The train actually got to Crewe for 19.16 but then sat outside the station for a further 7mins. When I got off and ran for my connection it was pulling out of the station. I would have got this connection had the driver not stopped outside station. Extremely frustrating. I was heading to home for a birthday meal. I ended up getting the 19.56 train which did not leave until gone 8pm!!. I ended up missing the meal which was very upsetting all due to lots of different delays. Train travel is not supposed to be stressful and it was. I am very disappointed in the service received. Can you please rectify this disappointment
    2014-05-06 14:51:31

    Other - Tim Rees

    Wifi Guys - all well and good to advertise wifi on a train. Not so good when after been mugged into paying GBP 6.00 the speed was as slow as an asmatic ant climbing uphill with an elephant on it's back. Not that impressed, sure you have this lots of times but suggest either improve the service, remove it or don't charge people money to wait for anything to load Make you wonder what virgin media must be like?
    2014-04-26 09:42:21

In The News

Delays on train services to the capital disrupt commuters - Hemeltoday

Southern Rail tickets are being accepted by London Midland, London Overground, and London Underground services while Virgin Trains passengers may use East Coast, East Midlands Trains, and London Midland services ...

11 Sep 2014 | 4:13 pm

Attenborough Sez: Virgin Galactic Just Like Virgin Trains at ...

Video Caption: Virgin Trains interviewing Stephen Attenborough, Commercial Director of Virgin Galactic, on the Kendal Calling Express on-route to Kendal Calling. Space being the theme for 2014 and Virgin Trains as Travel ...

22 Aug 2014 | 7:01 pm

Major train delays - Lancashire Evening Post

Dozens of passengers have been hit by the delays. A spokesman for Virgin Trains said southbound trains were being terminated at Carlisle and northbound trains are being terminated at Preston. He said 27 coaches are on ...

30 Jul 2014 | 10:30 am

The UK Consumer Opinion of Virgin Trains | VoxPopMe

Created with Raphaël 2.1.0 Virgin Trains Expensive Richard Branson Red Efficient London Clean Great Time Reliable Quality Good Serivce Fast Comfortable Delays Relaxing Moden Efficiency Good Quick Route Value.

17 Jun 2014 | 1:10 pm

Travel trade | About us | Virgin Trains | virgintrains.co.uk

Travel Trade - make an enquiry. We'd like to hear from you, our trade partners - whether it's for corporate sales enquiries, questions, ideas, opportunities. Please get in touch with the team. Email: Corporate.Sales@virgintrains.co.uk.

10 Jun 2014 | 3:00 am

About Us

Living in London I spend more time sat on a train than I ever do at my desks or with my family, and it's an ever straining effort to get to our destinations especially with the increase in rail fares.

This site was setup to voice the opinions of fellow commuters, give you a voice. The only way to do something about the situation faced by us every day is to create a place where everybody is welcome to have their own say and in doing so, perhaps we may just be able to use Virgin Trains Complaints for the greater good :)

hello@virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk