Virgin Trains Complaints. Have Your Say.

This site is not affiliated with Virgin Trains.

The voice of the people written by the people. We all know how hard it is to be heard by big corporations, If you have a complaint for Virgin Trains post it below.

Disclaimer

Please Note: this site is not affiliated or monitored by Virgin Trains and you can contact Virgin Trains at http://virgintrains.co.uk/contact we do however represent the views of the traveling public. This website contains information posted by the public for the public.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in all our web pages, the content is naturally subject to change and we cannot guarantee its accuracy or currency. We reserve the right to make changes to the information on the site without notice.

Our website has links to many third party information providers who are not affiliated with us. We do not endorse any of these sites, nor the information or merchandise contained or offered by these sites. We cannot make any warranties as to the accuracy, reliability or security of any information you might be requested to give any third party and, in no event shall we be liable for any damages whatsoever.

  • Complaints on Twitter


    Complaint Stats

    Total complaints this month: 4.

    There were 1 complaints posted last month.

    Total complaints posted this year: 43


    Top 5 complaint types

  • Post a Complaint

    All complaints are public and shown below. If you don't want your name to be shown, leave the name field blank and your post will be anonymous.

    Ticketing - Elisha

    very unhelpful staff. After asking directly for not virgin only, fully knowing I would miss the last virgin train home. The lady then printed us Virgin only tickets. Me not realising till on my way home when I was asked to pay for a full price ticket £19.80. after the £22 I had already paid to Virgin. I've spoken to customer services and they're response was 'I cant help you' if anybody can help me or give me some advice much appreciated.
    2014-08-11 14:54:18

    Other - Martine Howard

    I am writing this email in concern about a recent purchase of first class rail tickets to London from rugely Trent valley I thought that booking on Virgin for first class we would have full benefits of first class travel, so when. We found out it was on London midland and there was not even a buffet car and the seats where the same as the others only in a first class compartment.so I'm not happy about this and would think again about booking first class travel with you in future.
    2014-08-08 19:10:34

    Unhelpful Staff - Reena Odedra

    As usual I took my 6.43 train from euston to Milton Keynes Central, however today the ticket lady stopped me from going through and told me I have to get on another train because this one is too full, and I have a rail card, I then asked her why and that I always take this train she said you can't be because they check I said you can't tell me I'm lying as I've taken this exact train before and never had a problem with it. She then told me that I was being abusive, when I had not even raised my voice, nor had I used any abusive language. She raised her voice and told me I need to leave now and get the 7.10 train, I told them again and again that I have taken this train before but none of them had time to make me understand why. I am shocked at this sort of behaviour from virgin trains as I take the train to euston always and spend a large amount of money on their tickets. I have never come across someone as rude and patronising as this lady who I spoke to today. Please can I have a response as to why this happened and why have I not been told this before?
    2014-08-06 17:54:28

    Delay - Joanna lock

    I wish to make a complaint. I brought tickets in advance and was all set to go. That is until I got to Wolverhampton station. Due to London midlands trains cancelling the train I was supposed to be on, I was already stressed enough missing my first connecting train. However, just when I thought the day wasn't going to get any worse....it does. The lovely ticket man on the train told me when the next train to euston was due and what do I find when I get there....this train was delayed too....just great! So I wait....and it gets worse...this train is also cancelled according to your screen! Cue even more stress. When a train finally turns up and we are told to get off at Birmingham....I find it actually was the 'cancelled' train to euston. So now what do I do....get off at Birmingham as ordered or stay on the train....who knows, it's not like anyone was actually telling me anything. So.....already an hour behind schedule and with people meeting me waiting for me in Romford where I should of been close to being by now I get off at Birmingham.....to be told to get back on. seriously!!!! Does many one know what's going on because I sure as hell didn't! So back on we go....and we wait...and wait....and wait. Low and behold....another faulty train, just great. Then, we are told with merely 5 minutes before it's due to leave that there is another train to euston if we wanted. So, if I wanted to get to my destination I'm now being expected to run up and down stairs to another platform with hoards of people and a very heavy suitcase!! Get there with 2 minutes to spare....to find this one is also delayed, starting to wonder if I was ever going to leave Birmingham! Through the stress of this poor service and being shockingly behind schedule making people expecting me wait an hour and a half longer than necessary and stressfully trying to sort my other connections I lost my purse. Thankfully I already had accomedation sorted but I now get to embrace my ruined holiday thanks to this dreadful train service with no money and no cards. Thank you for a ruined holiday.
    2014-08-05 06:02:51

    Other - TT Le

    @VirginTrainsWifi horrible service. I bought the 3hrs package wifi for £6 to watch them WC game and then the wifi couldn't even load a short video of 2' on the web, no need to say about the game I was looking forward to watch. The wifi connection was horrible and so disappointed. To load this page of http://virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk/ to make a complaint it took nearly 3 minutes. Virgin train wifi is a joke, and virgin train shouldn't even provide it at first cause it's so slow and hardly working. Really disappointed and sad cause i missed the match because of a horrible wifi service.! No one should buy it. Use your 3G is faster!!!
    2014-07-08 21:08:06

    Cancellation - Edwin

    I train scheduled to travel from Birmingham to London at 12.50pm was cancelled. I was put on the next train which didn't leave until 1.20pm. Causing me to miss my appointment in London. I therefore have to schedule another trip again giving me additional expenses
    2014-06-26 12:29:33

    Dirty Toilet - Sophie

    The virgin train leaving Bangor Gwynedd at 20:20 to Chester the toilet was disgusting! The smell travelled into the carriage, the floor was soaking wet, wet tissues all over the floor and the sink was over flowing. This is un expectable as I rushed to catch the train not going to the toilet with the thought that Virgin trains have toilets to find it in this condition!
    2014-06-23 20:00:13

    Delay - Belle

    (Unhelpful staff) - I travel to London everyday from Coventry. This is certainly not cheap, and for this reason, I would expect that not only is your service reliable, punctual and that your staff have an impeccable sense of customer service. Unfortunately I've been proved wrong on all accounts! Only today I wasn't allowed to board a train from London Euston despite the train still not having left the platform and 3 minutes to departure. The staff were rude and REFUSED to check my ticket and kept insisting I was late despite the train not having left the platform with all the doors still wide open. Ridiculous. After this, I find that the subsequent train is CANCELLED. And the one after that is DELAYED. When are Virgin trains going to realise that money nor time grows on trees and that their service to their customers should be built on punctuality and reasonable COMPENSATION should the trains be delayed even by 10 minutes (which has a hideous knock on effect to the rest of the morning commute). WAKE UP Virgin trains! Train your staff to think of customers as real human beings with places to get to and people to see. It's not as if these train tickets are cheap. I spend a good portion of my monthly wage on your rubbish! Its only a matter of time before we look for different modes of transport.
    2014-06-19 18:04:38

    Unhelpful Staff - Noshaba Anbreen

    This is a copy of the email I sent to virgin trains customer relations today: Dear Staff, I am writing to complain about the appauling service me and my friend received on Friday 30th May 2014 on the 20:23 train from London Euston to Birmingham New Street. According to one of your employees on board the train was supposed to have more carriages but there were far fewer than the number of seats booked. There was in issue at Euston where none of the seat reservation data loaded around the seats. This meant that the staff on the train and passengers boarding it had no idea about which seats were reserved. As someone was sat in our seats, me and my friend sat in the next available seats we could find. There was then an announcement about this from one of your staff on board, and we were told to ask people to move from our seats if they were seated in them and we had a reservation. Details of my seat number reservations and tickets are attached. When we moved along the packed train we realised that there was nowhere for many people to sit. When arriving at our seats we asked the two men seated in them politely to move as we had reservations and they point blank refused. When I brought this to the attention to one of the virgin staff they showed no interest and did not help us out. There was luggage blocking all the aisles which is a safety issue as the doors were also blocked. We then were left with no option but to sit on the hard floor on the end carriage. We had nowhere to sit for the entire journey as more pople boarded at Coventry and at Birmingham International. At one point, we had people standing around us who had got onto the train at Coventry. I was really disappointed by this level of service and would seriously reconsider booking with Virgin again. According to your staff this is a regular occurance on this service and I think it is ridiculous to endure such poor conditions being a regular customer and also having a seat reservation. Regards
    2014-06-03 10:41:57

    Unhelpful Staff - Marie Fell

    I was present on a virgin train on the 29th MAY and one of the staff came to check my ticket. She was adamant that this ticket had been used, but i was sure that it had not.. I was then ordered to pay for another ticket and my original tickets were taken form me. The womans name was Lucy- this iis due to another member of staff giving me thw womans name.I have come in contact with this woman before and had hassle after hassle with her every time. the last time was when I was bording the train, she marked my ticket whilst ini the station and once again had to pay for a ticket again on the train as the train manager at the tine said it had been used, I explained that the staff checking the tickets had marked it, but he was not having any of it. I feel that I have had a lot of trouble with this staff member and feel that i do not want any further contact with her. If she is around in future i feel as though I need to see anothe rmember of the staff. I realise she does not like me - that has been made obvious by the comments made when she speaks to me. She is very rude and obnoxious smirking at other train members whilst haveing a dig at me. I need to make this aware that all staff members are not like this, but everythime i see her she makes a beeline for me and starts on and on.
    2014-05-29 13:24:45

    Other - Laura Henderson

    I traveled from Euston to Manchester Piccadilly today, outbound 8.20am - return 3.35pm. The Wifi was not working even though when I asked the staff they said it was. I had urgent work to do which I could not do as I had no internet access. It is a shame as usually it works very efficiently. I am requesting my £6 back as I paid for the 3 hour wifi on my return journey and had no access.
    2014-05-28 19:03:17

    Other - Elizabeth Taylor

    I travelled on the 11-35 virgin train to Glasgow on Thursday 22nd mayI tried to find the duty manager before the train left but to no avail . The train was supposed to have 11 carriages but it was only 9 there was no where for people to sit it was like a cattle market when I brought this to the attention to one of the virgin staff they showed no interest . The toilets were not working in D C B which was not acceptable . There was luggage blocking all the aisles which is a safety issue as the doors were all blocked . Unfortunately I have to travel back down on Monday morning which will be the last time I use virgin trains . I look forward to hearing what you have to say on this matter. Mrs Elizabeth Taylor
    2014-05-23 09:57:30

    Delay - Dan cheesbrough

    I was booked on the 16.20 Euston to Manchester Piccadilly train on the 5/5/2014. The train didn't leave until 16.24 then spent 90 minutes stopping and starting between Euston and Watford junction. The delay was do to signal issues which is very vague. When we finally got under way we were told the train would arrive in Crewe at 19.12. This information meant I could get the 19.23 connection to chester. I was supposed to get the 18.23. The train actually got to Crewe for 19.16 but then sat outside the station for a further 7mins. When I got off and ran for my connection it was pulling out of the station. I would have got this connection had the driver not stopped outside station. Extremely frustrating. I was heading to home for a birthday meal. I ended up getting the 19.56 train which did not leave until gone 8pm!!. I ended up missing the meal which was very upsetting all due to lots of different delays. Train travel is not supposed to be stressful and it was. I am very disappointed in the service received. Can you please rectify this disappointment
    2014-05-06 14:51:31

    Other - Tim Rees

    Wifi Guys - all well and good to advertise wifi on a train. Not so good when after been mugged into paying GBP 6.00 the speed was as slow as an asmatic ant climbing uphill with an elephant on it's back. Not that impressed, sure you have this lots of times but suggest either improve the service, remove it or don't charge people money to wait for anything to load Make you wonder what virgin media must be like?
    2014-04-26 09:42:21

    Other - Tim Rees

    Wifi Guys - all well and good to advertise wifi on a train. Not so good when after been mugged into paying GBP 6.00 the speed was as slow as an asmatic ant climbing uphill with an elephant on it's back. Not that impressed, sure you have this lots of times but suggest either improve the service, remove it or don't charge people money to wait for anything to load Make you wonder what virgin media must be like?
    2014-04-26 09:42:19

    Ticketing - P Reynolds

    Virgin, the new Ryan Air, what a rip off I turned up this morning to catch my train which my PA booked (1st class) to find I couldn't obtain ticket from machine in my usual way. On speaking with sales assistant I was told I had an e-ticket which requires printing out (all new to me) so I politely asked if she would print it off for me on the printer directly behind her which I was smugly told that's not for customer use! WHAT!!!!! Then I was smugly told I had to buy another full price ticket when I could show her the booking and payment on my phone. I'm gobsmacked at this attitude in this highly competitive market. What has happened to Virgin, the company which stood for the consumer/customer. I've grown up with this brand and, well I'm totally disappointed and will go out of my way not to travel with any virgin method of transport. In addition I'm just moving house and virgin media will also be loosing my business, time to try sky. I hope this finds it's way to someone who can change this culture before it's to late. I apologise if there are spelling mistakes but my blood is boiling.
    2014-03-29 08:24:32

    Unhelpful Staff - IoanaC

    I'm so disgusted by their refunds process. I bought tickets under booking ref NNRJ2L4C on 12th February. I called 3 times your customer services until I managed to speak with a quite bright person. I asked for the refund for the outward trip to London. I was told that I can cancel that ticket and get a total refund of £35.50 withing the next 4 weeks. And I booked another ticket (much higher price of course). I send the ticket to Edinburgh office on 13th February. Today is 27th of March and I still didn't receive my refund. Today I contacted them again and I was told they never received the tickets. I didn't send them by recorded mail (other money, more fun) and now I can't get a refund. This company is a disgrace. Tickets prices are so high ... customer services phone numbers are charges and at least they can't be professional.
    2014-03-27 15:43:26

    Delay - liz gleave

    I booked the 16.54 train Motherwell to Warrington bank quay. The train terminated at Preston with onward notifcations if you were travelling to Milton Keynes, Watford or London Euston. No onward notification for Wigan North Western or Warrington Bank Quay - Come on Virgin get your act together we are all customers
    2014-03-26 21:55:06

    Delay - lisa Attenborrow

    Dear sir/madam I have to use the train from new street Birmingham to Nuneaton every Thursday. Nearly every time i get the train it is late or delayed. I usually get the 9.22 towards Nuneaton. Its a important journey for me because i use it for my college placement to get to a animal rescue centre. I have been late nearly every week thanks to the virgin trains being late. The one week i was told they were only running every hour and even that one was late. I ended up going back home, because my placement manager said it wasn't worth me coming in that day. This has affected my reference for future jobs. Another problem i have is i am dyslexic and apart from twice, the platform number has changed a few minutes before the train was due, this has also made me miss my train twice, it seems to be between platform 10A-11A or 8A this is highly confusing when you have auto visual problems. i have to ask train staff to point me in the right direction because i have trouble seeing the information screens. I also often see a very elderly man who always misses his train because he can't get to the changed platform on time. Can you please tell me why this always happens. i have to get the London midland train first from Yardley wood and have never had problems like this. I also find the fares extremely expensive and would expect a better service that what i have been receiving. This has made me consider doing my placement at a different location where i don't need to use the unreliable virgin trains.I have a of few of the train tickets. the the number on the tickets are 60232 5060453748 and another is 62533 5060453748. please let me know if any improvements will be made to this service and why i am having these problems Yours Sincerely L. Attenborrow. I will also include my address and would prefer to be contacted through the post please,if possible as i have borrowed this computer to state the problems i am having, my address is: Lisa Attenborrow 417 wake green road Moseley Birmingham B13 0BJ
    2014-03-22 17:38:18

    Delay - Angela Halliwell

    Just arrived back from London arriving at Liverpool on the 17.33 travelled first class the quality of the meal was awful chicken and new potatoes. It was a few chicken wings in a BBQ sauce and tepid old new potatoes not up to first class standard could do better
    2014-03-22 08:52:59

In The News

Major train delays - Lancashire Evening Post

Rail passengers are facing major delays due to an incident near Lancaster. ... A spokesman for Virgin Trains said southbound trains were being terminated at Carlisle and northbound trains are being terminated at Preston.

30 Jul 2014 | 10:30 am

Virgin Trains Teddy Trackers Return Lost Toys to Kids - PSFK

The travel operator has introduced special trackers which help ensure cuddly bears can be identified and returned to their owner. Virgin Trains has launched teddy trackers to ensure that children who leave their toy behind on ...

21 Jul 2014 | 4:30 pm

Travel trade | About us | Virgin Trains | virgintrains.co.uk

Travel Trade - make an enquiry. We'd like to hear from you, our trade partners - whether it's for corporate sales enquiries, questions, ideas, opportunities. Please get in touch with the team. Email: Corporate.Sales@virgintrains.co.uk.

10 Jun 2014 | 3:00 am

Why would you recommend Virgin Trains? Why NPS should not be ...

However a first time trip using Virgin Trains left me with more steam coming out of my ears than one of their Super Voyagers! Let me set the scene. My train was cancelled. The next one was delayed. Updates from the ...

20 Mar 2014 | 8:52 pm

Virgin Trains tweet tells all passengers to abandon travel as storm ...

... for all passengers to abandon travel. The edict on Twitter, issued in block capitals by Virgin Trains at 5.27pm, read: "NEW: ALL CUSTOMERS TO ABANDON TRAVEL #UKSTORM" – a message that caught the company's own communications team on the hop. ... The situation was continuing to develop with problems making the faster intercity trains untenable, although some commuter services continued to run. The official advice was clarified to say: "We are ...

12 Feb 2014 | 8:00 pm

About Us

Living in London I spend more time sat on a train than I ever do at my desks or with my family, and it's an ever straining effort to get to our destinations especially with the increase in rail fares.

This site was setup to voice the opinions of fellow commuters, give you a voice. The only way to do something about the situation faced by us every day is to create a place where everybody is welcome to have their own say and in doing so, perhaps we may just be able to use Virgin Trains Complaints for the greater good :)

hello@virgintrainscomplaints.co.uk